Issuance of hunting, fishing, trapping and sporting licenses has been temporarily suspended until our office is able to transition to a new state system for issuing these licenses.
To contact the NYSDEC directly, please call (866)933-2257 or visit www.dec.ny.gov
A New York State fishing license or combined hunting and fishing license entitles the holder to: take fish by angling, spearing, hooking, longbow, and tip ups; take frogs by spearing, catching with the hands or by use of a club or hook; and take bait fish for personal use, all as provided by the laws and regulations of the Department of Environmental Conservation. New York State fishing licenses can be obtained in the Office of the Westchester County Clerk. Everyone 16 and older must have a valid fishing license in their possession unless they qualify for a specific exception. Applicants must provide proof of residency if applying for a resident license and pay the applicable fee.
Fishing License Fees: The following is a list of current fees for fishing licenses in New York State:
|Seven Day Fishing (for seven consecutive days)||$15.00|
|One Day Fishing||$5.00|
|Senior (70+/Military Disability) fishing||$5.00|
|Seven Day Fishing||$35.00|
|One Day Fishing||$15.00|
Who Needs a License? Everyone must have a valid fishing license in their possession while fishing, except: persons under 16 years of age who are accompanied by a parent with a valid license; when fishing waters of the Marine District or in the Hudson River south of the Troy Barrier Dam; when fishing on licensed fishing preserves; citizen-resident owners, lessees and citizen members of their immediate families occupying and cultivating farm lands, when fishing on their own lands; persons holding farm fish pond licenses and members of their immediate families, when fishing on waters covered by their licenses; resident parties at United States Veterans Administration hospitals, Department of Mental Hygiene institutions, and Department of Health rehabilitation hospitals, and inmates at Division of Youth rehabilitation centers.
License Privileges and Requirements: The holder of a license shall have such license on the holder's person while exercising any privilege of that license. The holder of a license shall exhibit it on demand to any police officer, peace officer, or the owner, lessee, or other person in control of the lands or waters on which the license holder is present. No license authorizes the holder to trespass upon private lands or waters or interfere with property belonging to another person.
Free Fishing Licenses: The following individuals are eligible for a free fishing license and may obtain a license at any license issuing outlet: citizen residents who are blind; active members of the U.S. Armed Forces who provide proof that they are New York State residents and are in the state for a maximum of 30 days; resident patients at U.S. Veterans Administration hospitals or facilities can obtain a free fishing license through their hospital or facility; and Native Americans who are members of the Shinnecock and Poospatuck tribes or the Six Nations residing on reservations in New York State may obtain a free fishing license by contacting their reservation or the DEC License Sales Office at (518) 402-8843.
Questions? Call us at (914)995-3089 or email .